Confirming accounts is a one-time registration step that requires accessing a link sent to your account email. This is a standard registration step in most popular applications, including YouTube, Pinterest, Paypal, and Wikipedia.

Unsplash initially did not require users to confirm their accounts, but as the site has grown, it has increasingly become a target for spam attacks. While email confirmation does not prevent all spam attacks, it's a helpful step in spam prevention, allowing our team to better apply machine learning and risk mitigation techniques.

Without confirming your account, you can still use the Unsplash website to download, browse, and search images, but actions that can affect other users will not be available until your account is confirmed.

To confirm your account, follow the confirmation link sent to the email associated with your Unsplash account.

Checking whether your account is confirmed

You can check the status of your account by:

  1. Go to unsplash.com and login
  2. Go to unsplash.com/account. You can also navigate here by going to your profile and clicking on the 'Edit profile' link.
  3. If your account is confirmed, a green 'Account confirmed' button will show in the top right corner.

Resending the confirmation email

If you can't find the email confirmation link in your inbox:

  1. Go to unsplash.com and login
  2. If your account is unconfirmed, a banner will show at the top of the page, informing you that your account is unconfirmed
  3. Click the 'Resend confirmation' link
  4. Check your email (it may take up to a minute for the email to send, but most emails should be delivered within a few seconds)
  5. Click on the 'Confirm account' link from the email

If you no longer have access to the email inbox associated with your Unsplash email, you can change the email of your Unsplash account on your 'Edit profile' page and then follow the above steps to resend the confirmation email.

Did this answer your question?