27th September, 2019
Email confirmation and action limits rolled out

To combat site spam and increase safety, we’ve enabled a one-time step for all accounts that requires accounts to be confirmed via their email to take certain actions, like uploading a photo, creating a collection, or sending a message.

Confirming accounts is a one-time registration step that requires accessing a link sent to your account email. This is a standard registration step in most popular applications, including YouTube, Pinterest, Paypal, and Wikipedia.

Without confirming your account, you can still use the Unsplash website to download, browse, and search images, but actions that can affect other users will not be available until your account is confirmed.

Unsplash initially did not require users to confirm their accounts, but as the site has grown, it has increasingly become a target for spam attacks. While email confirmation does not prevent all spam attacks, it's a helpful step in spam prevention, allowing our team to better apply machine learning and risk mitigation techniques.

If your account is unconfirmed, you will see a black banner prompting you to confirm your account when you log in to the platform. 

For more information, and for how to check if you account is confirmed, please see this article.

9th September, 2019
Goodbye approved and searchable states  
All photos that meet the Submission Guidelines will be transitioning over the next few months to be eligible for search. How discoverable they are will depend on how the community interacts with the photos.

At Unsplash we believe in a pressure free community experience, which is why we don’t show ‘like’ or ‘follower’ counts, and this change helps towards this, while also allowing for a better search experience for the community.

Retiring the Manage Photos area
Our product team’s eventual goal is to make it so that when uploading to Unsplash, a photo automatically has any location information, EXIF, and tags populated during the upload stage, saving you time and increasing the number of photos with complete information.

The newly launched quick photo edit modal will contain all of the editing features in the future, which means that we’ll shortly be retiring the Manage Photos area. There are still a few features missing from the edit modal that will be launched shortly, including showing and editing AI tags and showing when a photo is in submission review.

Note: As usual, submissions will be reviewed within 48-36 hours and we’ll continue to send out emails to notify you of Editorial feed promotion.

5th August, 2019
Edit your photos directly from the website
, using the new 'Edit' button which appear to the bottom right side of a photo in single photo view.

5th August, 2019
Above: View your hidden photos directly from your profile page.

5th August, 2019
Above: Add a description directly from the photo uploader.

5th August, 2019
Above: Liking and collecting photos features rolled out on the Unsplash iOS app.
When you view a photo in full screen, press the heart button to like it, and press the plus-shaped button to collect it. On iPhone, you can also press and hold on a photo in any list of photos, and three buttons will show up so you can either like, collect, and download the photo (or all three!). 

You need to have an account to like and collect photos. But don't worry, you'll be prompted to sign up or log in when you try perform any of these new actions. 

Did this answer your question?